October 20, 2022

Father Ilarion such a perfect example of what you could imagine to be a strong, spiritual and wise father

Father Ilarion such a perfect example of what you could imagine to be a strong, spiritual and wise father.

 

Sincere memories of Father Ilarion by his spiritual child Philip.

 

I am an American Orthodox Christian, who was raised in Terryville, Connecticut. Since 1994, I have served in Russia on a number of expatriate assignments. In 1996 I took a job which brought my family and me to Veliky Novgorod, and it wasn’t long before I received a very nice letter asking to help with the Bronnitsa church school. My wife Nadia and I went to check out the school, and this is where we met Father Ilarion.

 

 

It did not take much time to realize that this was the spiritual father we both had been looking for. Not only was Father Ilarion such a perfect example of what you could imagine to be a strong, spiritual and wise father, but he was very easy to approach and ask advice on any subject. We immediately became his “spiritual kids,” and visited him on a regular basis. His advice, and sometimes cryptic predictions about our life, my career, and people we knew, all came true, one by one.

 

Shortly after we became acquainted with Father Ilarion, his health began to deteriorate. But then he made a pilgrimage to Jerusalem, which was his life long dream. The spiritual inspiration he received from this trip seemed to have added another 10 years to his life, and for that, we are very grateful. It was another 10 years of advice, wisdom, and most importantly his prayers, that guided us through all the trials and tribulations which life sometimes presents.

 

 

In January 2000, I took a new job which brought my family and me back to St. Petersburg, which was approximately 180 kilometers away. But we always made time to visit him at least once per quarter, and always celebrated Pascha with him, both in church and at his dinner table in his humble house after the midnight service was completed. Even when his health was failing, and he himself had trouble eating, he still insisted that we sit at his table. As you would expect, we had many questions for him about life, the future, and always some new problem or issue we were dealing with. Father Ilarion smiled and patiently took these problems on his back…and through his prayers, one by one, the problems were solved, and the future revealed just as he predicted.

 

 

Father Ilarion was a perfect example of how to live like a Christian in a modern world which seems so devoid of good Christian examples. He could talk about the Bible to simple village people on one hand, and be the designated confessor for all priests in the Novgorod Diocese on the other hand. He was strict and loving at the same time. If he knew you were upset with something he said (even if we deserved it), it bothered him tremendously, and he would immediately ask your forgiveness until it was given. In reality it was us, and our pride which caused the problem, and it should have been us asking his forgiveness!

 

Many of the Glinsk Monastery elders who lived with Father Ilarion during his early monastic years, have now been canonized by the Ukrainian Orthodox Church (Moscow Patriarchate), and I have no doubt that Father Ilarion will soon join their ranks.

 

Yours in Christ,

Philip Wegh

 

We thank Philip for this penetrating and sincere letter about Father Ilarion. One of the last elders of the Glinska Wilderness Stavropegic of the Nativity of Holy Mother of God men`s monastery, (also known as Glinskaya Pustyn), which supports our foundation in these difficult times for all. We want Father Ilarion's life and sermons to become accessible, to help, support and inspire Orthodox Christians all over the world. By making a donation on our website, we will send you a book about the life of Father Ilarion (A Champion of Good) or a book with his heartfelt and wise sermons (A Beacon of Hope) in English. All funds raised will go to help the Stavropegic monastery of the Glinskaya Pustyn. The book will be a wonderful gift for you or your friend. Save you God!

 

We will be able to send the book if the donation is not less than the amount of sending the book. Therefore, we invite you to make a donation of at least $30 so that we can send you the book. All funds raised will go to help the Glinskaya Pustyn.

 

Help restore shrines

The site temporarily does not accept payments. We are working on it. But you can help the holy places now. Submit a donation request by filling out the form below. And we will contact you to offer convenient ways of helping you. Also in this form you can submit a request for books about Father Illarion in English. Thank you for your help and understanding.

Select book
Convenient communication method
Donation amount
Thank you! We will contact you shortly.
Something went wrong. Try again.

Subscribe to newsletter

Dear brothers and sisters! Join us and find solace with like-minded people, with those who care about the welfare of monasteries, churches and other shrines. After all, a church is not only golden domes and beautifully painted icons. This is all of us when we live in Christ!

20 октября, 2022

Отец Иларион прекрасный пример сильного, духовного и мудрого отца

Отец Иларион прекрасный пример сильного, духовного и мудрого отца, которого только можно себе представить…

 

Искренние воспоминания об отце Иларионе, старца Глинской пустыни, его духовного чада Филиппа.

 

Я американский православный христианин, выросший в Терривилле, штат Коннектикут. С 1994 года я служил в России, выполняя ряд зарубежных заданий. В 1996 году я устроился на работу, которая привела меня и мою семью в Великий Новгород, и вскоре я получил очень милое письмо с просьбой помочь с церковной школой в Бронице. Мы с женой Надей пошли смотреть школу, и там мы встретили отца Илариона.

 

 

Не потребовалось много времени, чтобы понять, что это тот духовный отец, которого мы искали. Мало того, что отец Иларион был прекрасным примером, которого вы только можете себе представить. Он был сильным, духовным и мудрым. И в то же время к нему было легко подойти и спросить совета в любой ситуации. После этой встречи мы стали его духовными чадами и регулярно навещали. Его советы, а иногда и загадочные предсказания о нашей жизни, моей карьере и людях, которых мы знали, сбывались одно за другим.

 

Вскоре после того, как мы познакомились с отцом Иларионом, его здоровье начало ухудшаться. Но затем он совершил паломничество в Иерусалим, что было мечтой всей его жизни. Духовное вдохновение, которое он получил в этой поездки, казалось, добавило ему еще 10 лет жизни, за что мы были ему очень благодарны. Это были еще 10 лет советов, мудрости и, самое главное, его молитв, которые вели нас через все испытания и невзгоды, которые иногда преподносит жизнь.

 

 

В январе 2000 года я устроился на новую работу, благодаря которой я и моя семья вернулись в Санкт-Петербург, который находился примерно в 180 километрах от нашего духовного отца. Но мы всегда находили время навестить его хотя бы раз в квартал и всегда праздновали с ним Пасху, как в церкви, так и за обеденным столом в его скромном доме, после окончания полунощницы. Даже когда здоровье отца Иллариона пошатнулось, и ему самому было трудно есть, он все равно настаивал, чтобы мы сели за его стол. Как и следовало ожидать, у нас было много вопросов к нему о жизни, о будущем и всегда о какой-то новой проблеме или ситуации, которая случалась с нами ранее. Отец Иларион улыбался, терпеливо брал эти проблемы на свою спину, и по его молитвам одна за другой наши сложности решались, а будущее открывалось именно так, как он предсказывал.

 

 

Отец Иларион был прекрасным примером того, как жить по-христиански в современном мире, который кажется лишенным хороших христианских примеров. Он мог с одной стороны рассказывать о Библии простым деревенским людям, а с другой стороны быть назначенным духовником для всех священников Новгородской епархии. Он был строгим и любящим одновременно. Если он знал, что мы расстроены тем, что он сказал (даже если мы этого заслуживали), это ужасно беспокоило его, и он немедленно просил прощения, пока оно не было дано. На самом деле это мы и наша гордость вызвали проблему, и это мы должны были просить у него прощения!

 

Многие старцы Глинской пустыни, жившие с отцом Иларионом в ранние монашеские годы, теперь канонизированы Украинской Православной Церковью (Московский Патриархат), и я не сомневаюсь, что отец Иларион скоро пополнит их ряды.

 

Ваш во Христе,

Филипп Вег

 

Мы благодарим Филиппа за это проникновенное и искреннее письмо об отце Илларионе. Одного из последних старцев Рождества Богородицы (Глинской пустыни) ставропигиального мужского монастыря, который поддерживает наш фонд в эти не простые для всех времена. Мы хотим, чтобы жизнь и проповеди отца Иллариона стали доступны, помогали, поддерживали и вдохновляли православных христиан по всему миру. Сделав пожертвование на нашем сайте, мы отправим Вам книгу о жизни отца Иллариона (A Champion of Good) или книгу с его проникновенными и мудрыми проповедями (A Beacon of Hope)  на английском языке. Все собранные средства пойдут на помощь мужскому ставропигиальному монастырю Глинская пустынь. Книга станет прекрасным подарком Вам или Вашим близким. Спаси Вас Бог!

 

Мы сможем отправить книгу если пожертвование составит не менее суммы отправки книги. Поэтому предлагаем сделать пожертвование не менее 30 $, чтобы мы могли отправить Вам книгу. Все собранные средства пойдут на помощь Глинской пустыни.

 

Помогите возродить святыни

Сайт временно не принимает платежи. Мы над этим работаем. Но вы можете помочь святым местам уже сейчас. Оставьте заявку на пожертвование, заполнив форму приведенную ниже. И мы свяжемся с вами, чтобы предложить удобные именно вам способы помощи. Также в этой форме вы можете оставить заявку на книги об отце Илларионе на английском языке. Благодарим за помощь и понимание.

Выбрать книгу
Удобный способ связи
Сумма пожертвования
Спасибо! Мы свяжемся с Вами в ближайшее время.
Что-то пошло не так. Попробуйте еще раз.

Подпишитесь на рассылку

Дорогие братья и сестры! Присоединяйтесь к нам и находите утешение с единомышленниками, с теми, кто беспокоится о благосостоянии храмов, монастырей, церквей и других святынь. Ведь церковь – это не только золотые купола и красиво расписанные иконы. Это все мы с вами, когда живем во Христе!