December 12, 2021

The Glinsk Pustyn. Miracles on earth

The Glinsk Pustyn is a monastery that has been bringing light and love for the Lord into the world for over four centuries already. Its history truly surprises with how the striving human persistence for purity and faith made its way through the most difficult trials and sorrows. In the 20th century the monastery was destroyed twice. But every time after its ruin the monastery was reborn like a phoenix from the ashes.

 

 

The Glinsk Pustyn during the revolution    

 

In the hard time of the revolution the monastery was completely destroyed. But the spiritual state of being cannot be blown up or eliminated or wiped off the face of the earth. Despite the expulsion of the brothers from the monastery and the cruelty of the sinful world, the monks carried the light of the inextinguishable lamp throughout their entire way instructing sinners on the path of righteousness and strengthening faith in the Lord in the person.

 

After the terrible events of the revolution, the monastery began to function again during the Great Patriotic War. Its abbot was Archimandrite Nektary. It was the first monastic monastery in those days. Many monks returned. There were not only brothers but also sisters at that time.

 

Piles of rubbish, leftover bricks and iron – this is what remained then from the main cathedral. The monks had a difficult time. They were exhausted by hardships but still found the strength to provide everything they needed. They made their own bast shoes, weaved their own clothes for monks and baked bread. However, the true joy and happiness for them was in their native sacred place. Despite the difficulties they tried to help all those in need and grateful people remember their good deeds till now.

 

Archimandrite Nektary’s life was short. After him, father Seraphim Amelin became the head of the monastery to whom father Seraphim Romantsov, who became the confessor of the monastery, and father Andronik Lukash, who became the dean, arrived. They continued the traditions of the Glinsk elders. They taught prayer, good deeds before the Lord and life according to the will of God.

 

The light of unceasing monastic prayer drew the pilgrims to commune with the Almighty. Those who aspired to get into the monastery headed to Glukhovo then got to the monastery on their own. Most beautiful view opened up before their eyes. Silence and peacefulness reigned all around. A pine forest stretched out from the east. The monastery fence was destroyed but the squat corner tower was still standing. In honour of Christ there was only a church with a wooden cross without a dome. Every pilgrim could stay here for the night and have dinner. For that no money or connections were required.

 

The morning service began at three o’clock. The pilgrims gathered in a half-dark church lit by a single candle.

 

In those years the monastery received up to 700 people every day. After finding all that is most precious to the soul in the church people themselves wanted to help the Glinsk monastery in any way they could. Thank-you parcels came here from all over the world: from Canada and Australia and other distant places.

 

But the Soviet authorities didn’t allow the monastery to flourish. In 1961 it was surrounded on all sides by police officers and the Soviet party apparatus. The monks were taken in cars to the nearest stations. Despite false promises they were forbidden to take money, things and even food with them. The building was handed over to the Sosnovka Home for the disabled.

 

However, even after the official closure the hermitage still had a great impact on the spiritual development of the state.

 

A new stage in the revival of the Glinsk Hermitage

 

 

In 1994 a new page in the restoration of the Glinsk monastery opened when its entire complex passed to the Ukranian Orthodox Church. In 1996 the Ukranian Orthodox Church got the status of stauropegia as a sign of its special role and significance in the Orthodox world. Metropolitan Vladimir of Kiev became the archimandrite of the monastery. Together with the prayer, the former grace also returned here.

 

In 1997, His Beatitude Vladimir consecrated a cross at the site of the foundation of a chapel church in honour of Saints Joachim and Anna. In 1998, a chapel already stood at the site of the apparition of the icon of the Most Holy Theotokos. The Kiev metropolitan of all Ukraine Vladimir consecrated the gate church in honour of the Iberian (Iveron) icon of the Mother of God. Thus, the connection of times was restored. It was in honour of the Gate Guardian Theotokos that the church was consecrated in the middle of the 19th century and after that it was brutally demolished at the beginning of the 20th century.

 

In 2001, work on the church in honour of St. Nicholas was completed. It became the main church of the monastery. In 2002 they rebuilt a holy well and a chapel in honour of the Transfiguration above it. Now the pilgrims quenched here not only spiritual but physical thirst as well.

 

Charity work of the Glinsk Pustyn

 

In the Orthodox world it has always been customary to help one’s neighbour. God deeds have always been highly valued in Orthodox circles. Despite all the woes and tribulations that the Glinsk monastery had to endure, it always helped people in need.

 

Spiritual and educational activity was one of the fundamental tasks of the monastery.

 

Among the noble deeds of the monastery, it is worth noting the many donations that were made by the monastery during the Great Patriotic War. At the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries, there was a significant growth in the monastery material well-being. This was largely due to impressive private donations. So, the sphere of agriculture became the largest scale in the Kursk diocese. The improved financial status led to the fact that there appeared funds for charity. Every year pilgrims who were housed in a special reception centre at the monastery came here. Residents of nearby villages who needed help received food and livelihood here. The Glinsk Pustyn also supported families affected by fires, poor harvests, etc.

 

The monastery's charitable work also included educational activities. A workhouse was set up, children learned to read and write and practiced various types of handicrafts there. The best teachers who knew a lot about this or that matter were taken for teaching children. In addition to teaching crafts, they talked about God, taught church singing. The students of the Workhouse were sure to go to church.

 

Moreover, the Glinsk Pustyn donated many utensils for military and medical institutions. The monastery tried to help not only within the state but also abroad.

 

The Glinsk monastery made an enormous contribution to the spiritual education of the people as well. The books of moral and spiritual content were published here. The publishing house started operating in 1891. The tremendous publishing effort was appreciated by contemporaries. The “Glinsky Bogoroditsky books” were in great demand. This book series was included in the school library of the Kursk province. The publication about the monastery itself became a very important work. Thus, in 1891 descriptions of the monastery named “The Nativity of the Theotokos Glinskaya Pustyn” were published.

 

As you can see, the entire history of the monastery was steeped in a mission of charity. The monastery generously helped those in need not only in the Russian Empire but also far beyond its borders.

 

Shrine of the Glinsk Pustyn

 

One of the events that determined the special status of the Glinsk Pustyn in the Orthodox world was the apparition of the miraculous Icon of the Nativity of the Most Holy Theotokos named The Glinskaya (Nativity of the Theotokos icon of Glinsk). Numerous healings that were performed from it for the glory to the Mother of God and the strengthening of faith attracted pilgrims from all over the world. Though, the appearance of the monastery itself is also associated with the appearance of the miraculous image of the Mother of God at this place.

 

Once in a dark forest on one of the pine trees beekeepers noticed the icon of the Nativity of the Most Holy Theotokos which exuded divine radiance. After praying they returned home and told others about what had happened. Since then, many began to come to the newly-appeared image receiving the help of the Heavenly Queen from it.

 

From the pine tree on which the icon appeared a spring of healing water broke through. Not only lay people began to come to this sacred place but also monks who observed fasting.

 

It took a while to take the miraculous icon into chapel. The Mother of God didn’t want it and when the image was brought to the church, the very next day it was found on a pine tree. As a result, the tree was commanded to be felled. It turned out to be difficult to give an exact answer to the question of what specifically caused this decision. But when the pine tree was cut down the spring under it immediately dried up. Having been previously in good health the abbot fell ill on the same day and then died.

 

For several centuries, many healings have been given to people through this image. The news of the help of the Heavenly Queen spread widely. Huge groups of pilgrims came here. These were people with a wide range of problems and illnesses: possessed by the spirit and blind, paralyzed, suffering from epidemic diseases, mostly difficult cases when earthly healers were already powerless.

 

There is one Lord who heals all kinds of sickness and infirmity in people. The blind began sighted, the crippled became viable, the sick recovered. On top of that cases of the miraculous effect of the icon in times of epidemics, natural disasters both in the monastery itself and outside it, were recorded.

 

From the above it can be concluded that the Mother of God never left in trouble all those who with faith and love turned to Her for help. The graceful help through the icon of the Glinsk was poured out on all sinners.

 

But since 1922, when the desert was closed by the new government traces of the shrine were lost in dozens of years of obscurantism. According to the predictions of the spiritual elders the icon of the Nativity of the Most Holy Theotokos is to appear at this monastery which will serve as a sign for the revival of the Glinsk monastery and the prosperity of spiritual life and enlightening activities among the people. Even while remaining invisible to the human eye the grace-filled power of the miraculous image undoubtedly continues to pour out abundantly on all those who with faith in souls and with a pure heart pray for the help to the Queen of Heaven.

 

The state of the monastery today

 

 

As of today, the reconstruction work of the hermitage is unfortunately far from victorious completion. The labour-intensive restoration process continues. The revival of the Glinsk Pustyn has already become a tradition that kept going in the 21st century.

 

By God’s grace, two most beautiful churches have already been built and favourable conditions for monks have been created. The project to rebuild the monastery does not stop there. The monastery is still reviving. The plans include the construction of a bell tower, a Cathedral church and a fraternal building. However, due to the fact that the construction requires considerable financial investments it is rather difficult to say exactly when the monastery will be completely reconstructed. This is because it is located in the provinces, on the fringe of the country.

 

Pilgrims come here little by little. The state of the roads leaves a lot to be desired. People used to come to the monastery from Russia. The political situation seriously hinders this now.

 

Unfortunately, there’re no drawings of the old monastery project left. At a time of devastation, the monastery looked like a lot of diverse buildings. All these buildings were built then destroyed again and restored. Orthodox history tells us that many monasteries are in a state of permanent construction. However, at the time of the devastation there was nothing to take on but the location itself. Reconstruction here is based on the very best traditions, and instead of expectations it is believed that there’s God’s Will for all things: as the Most High wills everything will happen.

 

Friends! We are a charity fund collecting donations for monasteries and churches. The Glinsk Pustyn is in great need of your help today. Without our efforts and financial assistance it is impossible to revive what has being built for centuries. Let's help this truly sacred place, because the giver's hand will never run out. 

Help restore shrines

The site temporarily does not accept payments. We are working on it. But you can help the holy places now. Submit a donation request by filling out the form below. And we will contact you to offer convenient ways of helping you. Also in this form you can submit a request for books about Father Illarion in English. Thank you for your help and understanding.

Select book
Convenient communication method
Donation amount
Thank you! We will contact you shortly.
Something went wrong. Try again.

Subscribe to newsletter

Dear brothers and sisters! Join us and find solace with like-minded people, with those who care about the welfare of monasteries, churches and other shrines. After all, a church is not only golden domes and beautifully painted icons. This is all of us when we live in Christ!

12 декабря, 2021

Глинская пустынь. Чудеса на земле

Глинская пустынь – это монастырь, который уже более четырех столетий несет в мир свет и любовь к Господу. Его история поистине удивляет тем, с каким упрямством человеческое стремление к чистоте и вере пробивались через сложнейшие испытания и горести. В 20 столетии обитель был разрушен дважды. Но всякий раз после своего разорения, монастырь возрождался, словно феникс из пепла.

 

 

Глинская пустынь во время революции    

 

В тяжкое время революции обитель был разрушен полностью. Но духовное устроение нельзя ни взорвать, ни уничтожить, ни стереть с лица земли. Несмотря на изгнание братьев из монастыря и жестокость грешного мира, через весь свой путь монахи пронесли свет неугасимой лампады, наставляя грешников на путь праведный и укрепляя веру в Господа в человеке.

 

После страшных событий революции монастырь снова начал функционировать во времена Великой Отечественной. Его настоятелем был Архимандрит Нектарий. Это была первая действующая в те времена монашеская обитель. Многие монахи вернулись в родные стены. Тогда среди них были не только братья, но и сестры.

 

Кучи мусора, остатки кирпича и железа – это то, что осталось тогда от главного Собора. Монахам пришлось тяжко. Они были обессилены лишениями, но все же находили в себе силы, чтобы обеспечить себе все самое необходимое. Самостоятельно изготавливали лапти, сами ткали одежду для монахов и пекли хлеб. Однако истинная радость и счастье для них было в родном священном месте. Несмотря на сложности, они старались помогать всем нуждающимся и благодарные люди по сей день помнят их добрые деяния.

 

Жизнь Архимандрита Нектария выдалась не долгой. После него настоятелем обители стал отец Серафим Амелин, к которому прибыли отец Серафим Романцов, ставший духовником монастыря и отец Андроник Лукаш, ставший благочинным. Они продолжили традиции Глинских старцев. Они учили молитве, добрым поступкам перед Господом, жизни по воле Божьей.

 

На свет беспрерывной монашеской молитвы, зажженной в этом месте, потянулись богомольцы для общения со Всевышним. Те, кто стремился попасть в монастырь, направлялись в Глухово, затем добирались своим ходом до монастыря. Их взору открывался красивейший вид. Вокруг царила тишь и умиротворение. С востока растянулся сосновый лес. Ограда обители была разрушена, но сохранилась приземистая угловая башня. Церковь была единственной, воздвиженной в честь Христа, с деревянным крестом без купола. Каждый паломник мог остаться здесь на ночь и поужинать. Для этого не нужны были связи или денежная плата.

 

Богослужение утром начиналось в три часа. Богомольцы собирались в полутемном храме, освещенном одной свечей.

 

В те годы монастырь принимал каждый день до 700 человек. Обретая в храме все самое ценное для души, люди сами хотели оказать помощь Глинской пустыне всем, чем только могли. Посылки благодарности приходили сюда со всех уголков земного шара: и из Канады, и из Австралии и других далеких местностей.

 

Но органы советской власти не дали монастырю процветать. В 1961 году он был окружен со всех сторон сотрудниками милиции и советско-партийного аппарата. Монахов отвозили на машинах на ближайшие станции. Несмотря на лживые обещания им было запрещено брать с собой деньги, вещи и даже еду. Сооружение было передано сосновскому дому инвалидов.

 

Однако даже после официального закрытия пустынь все также оказывала сильнейшее влияние на духовное развитие государства.

 

Новый этап возрождения Глинской пустыни

 

 

В 1994 году в Глинской пустыни открылась новая страница восстановления, когда весь ее комплекс перешел к украинской православной церкви. В 1996 Украинская Православная Церковь обрела статус ставропигии в знак особой роли и значения ее в православном мире. Архимандритом монастыря стал киевский митрополит Владимир. Вместе с молитвою сюда вернулась и былая благодать.

 

В 1997 году блаженнейшим Владимиром был освящен крест на месте закладки храма часовни в честь святых Иоакима и Анны. В 1998 в месте явления иконы Пресвятой Богородицы уже стояла часовня. Киевским Митрополитом всея Украины Владимиром был освящен надвратный храм в честь иверской иконы Божией Матери. Так была возобновлена связь времен. Именно в честь благой вратарницы храм был освящен еще в середине XIX столетия, а после жестоко разрушен в начале XX.

 

В 2001 году были закончены работы по сооружению храма в честь Николая Чудотворца, который стал основным храмом монастыря. В 2002 году отстроили святой колодец и часовню над ним в честь преображения Господня. Теперь здесь паломники утоляют жажду не только духовную, но и физическую.

 

Благотворительная деятельность Глинской пустыни

 

В Православном мире всегда было принято помогать ближнему. Добрые деяния всегда высоко ценились в Православных кругах. Несмотря на все горести и беды, которые пришлось перенести Глинской пустыни, здесь всегда помогали нуждающимися.

 

Духовно-просветительская деятельность являлась одной из основополагающих задач монастыря.

 

Среди благородных деяний пустыни стоит отметить множество пожертвований, которые были сделаны монастырем во времена Великой Отечественной Войны. На стыке XIX и XX веков материальное положение Глинской пустыни ощутимо возросло. Во многом это случилось благодаря внушительным частным пожертвованиям. Так, наиболее масштабной в Курской епархии стала сфера земледелия. Улучшенное финансовое положение монастыря привело к тому, что у пустыни появились средства, которые шли на благотворительность. Ежегодно сюда съезжались паломники, которые располагались в специальном приемнике при монастыре. Жители близлежащих деревень, которые нуждались в помощи, получали здесь еду и средства для существования. Также Глинская пустынь помогала пострадавшим семьям от пожаров, плохого урожая и т.д.

 

Затронула сфера благотворительности пустыни и образовательную деятельность. Здесь был организован дом трудолюбия, где дети учились грамоте и занимались различными видами ремесел. За обучение детей брались самые лучшие учителя, знавшие толк в том или ином деле. Кроме обучения ремеслам здесь рассказывали о Боге, учили церковному пению. Ученики Дома Трудолюбия обязательно ходили в Церковь.

 

Кроме того, Глинской пустынью было пожертвовано множество утвари для военных и врачебных обителей. Монастырь старался помогать не только в пределах государства, но и за рубежом.

 

Огромный вклад сделала Глинская пустынь и в духовное образование народа. Здесь издавались книги морального и духовного содержания. Издательство начало функционировать в 1891 году. Колоссальный издательский труд был оценен по достоинству современниками. Огромным спросом пользовались «Глинские Богородицкие книжки». Эта серия вошла в школьную библиотеку Курской губернии. Очень важным трудом стало издание о самой пустыне. Так, в 1891 году были выпущены описания монастыря, получившие название Глинская Рождество-Богородицкая пустынь.

 

Как видите, вся история монастыря пропитана миссией благотворительности. Обитель щедро помогала нуждающимся не только в Российской Империи, но и далеко за ее пределами.

 

Святыня Глинской пустыни

 

Одним из событий, обусловивших особый статус в Православном мире Глинской пустыни было явление здесь Чудотворной Иконы Рождества Пресвятой Богородицы, именуемой Пустынно-Глинской. Многочисленные исцеления, которые совершались от нее ради славы Божьей Матери и укрепления веры притягивали паломников со всех уголков. Впрочем, и само появление обители также связано с явлением на этом месте Чудотворного Образа Богоматери.

 

Как-то в темном лесу на одной из сосен пчеловоды заметили Икону Рождества Пресвятой Богородицы, которая истощала Божественное Сияние. Помолившись, они вернулись домой и поведали о произошедшем жителям. С тех пор многие стали приходить к новоявленному образу, получая от него помощь Небесной Царицы.

 

Из сосны, на которой явилась Икона, пробился источник целебной воды. К этому Священному месту стали приходить не только мирские люди, но и иноки, соблюдающие пост.

 

Перенести Чудотворную икону в часовню получилось не сразу. Матери Божьей было не угодно такое решение и когда образ перенесли в храм, уже на следующий день ее обнаружили на сосне. В итоге, дерево велели срубить. Дать точный ответ на вопрос, чем конкретно было обусловлено данное решение, оказалось сложно. Но когда срубили сосну, источник под ней тут же иссяк. Пребывая в полном здравии, настоятель заболел в тот же день, а после скончался.

 

На протяжении нескольких столетий икона даровала людям множества исцелений. Весть о помощи Небесной Царицы широко распространилась. Сюда съезжались огромные группы паломников. Это были люди с самыми разными проблемами и болезнями: одержимые духом и слепые, парализованные, страдающие от эпидемических заболеваний. В основном, это были сложные случаи, когда земные лекари уже были бессильны.

 

Един есть Господь, исцеляя всякую хворь и немощь в людях. Слепые становились зрячими, покалеченные жизнеспособными, больные выздоравливали. Кроме того, зафиксированы примеры помощи о Чудотворном воздействии иконы во времена эпидемий, стихийных бедствий, как в самой обители, так и за его пределами.

 

Из вышесказанного можно сделать вывод, что Матерь Божия никогда не оставляла в беде всех тех, кто с верой и любовью обращался к ней за помощью. Благодатная помощь Пустынно-Глинской иконы изливалась на всех грешников.

 

Но с 1922 года, когда пустынь была закрыта новой властью. Следы Святыни были утрачены в десятках годах мракобесия. По предсказаниям духовных старцев, икона Рождества Пресвятой Богородицы должна явиться в эту обитель, что послужит знамением к возрождению Глинской обители и процветанию духовной жизни и просветительской деятельности среди народа. Но даже оставаясь невидимой человеческому взору, благодатная сила чудотворного образа несомненно продолжает обильно изливаться на всех, кто с верой в душе и с чистым сердцем молит о помощи Царицу Небесную.

 

Состояние пустыни сегодня

 

 

На сегодняшний день работы по реконструкции пустыни, к сожалению, далеки до победного завершения. Продолжается трудоемкий процесс возобновления обители. Возрождение Глинской пустыни стало уже традицией, которая продолжилась в XXI столетии.

 

По Божьей милости сооружены уже два красивейших храма, созданы благоприятные условия для монахов. На этом проект по реконструкции обители не останавливается. Она продолжает возрождаться. В планах постройка колокольни, больничного храма, братского корпуса. Однако в связи с тем, что строительство требует немалых финансовых вложений, сказать, когда точно будет полностью реконструирована обитель, довольно сложно. Это связано с тем, что находится она в провинции на окраине.

 

Паломники сюда едут понемногу. Состояние дорог желает лучшего. Раньше народ заезжал в пустынь из России. Сейчас же политическая ситуация этому серьезно препятствует.

 

К сожалению, чертежей о старом проекте пустыни не осталось. Во времена разрушений обитель выглядела как множество разноплановых построек. Все эти здания строились, затем разрушались вновь и восстанавливались. Православная история говорит нам о том, что все монастыри – это постоянное строительство. Однако здесь на момент разрухи просто не было за что взяться помимо самого места. Реконструкция здесь основана на самых лучших традициях, а вместо расчета здесь веруют, что на все Воля Божья: как Всевышний пожелает, так все и случится.

 

Друзья! Мы являемся благотворительным фондом сбора пожертвований для монастырей и храмов. Глинская пустынь сегодня сильно нуждается в вашей помощи. Без наших усилий и финансовой поддержки невозможно возродить то, что строилось веками. Давайте поможем этому поистине Священному месту, ведь рука дающего никогда не оскудеет! 

Помогите возродить святыни

Сайт временно не принимает платежи. Мы над этим работаем. Но вы можете помочь святым местам уже сейчас. Оставьте заявку на пожертвование, заполнив форму приведенную ниже. И мы свяжемся с вами, чтобы предложить удобные именно вам способы помощи. Также в этой форме вы можете оставить заявку на книги об отце Илларионе на английском языке. Благодарим за помощь и понимание.

Выбрать книгу
Удобный способ связи
Сумма пожертвования
Спасибо! Мы свяжемся с Вами в ближайшее время.
Что-то пошло не так. Попробуйте еще раз.

Подпишитесь на рассылку

Дорогие братья и сестры! Присоединяйтесь к нам и находите утешение с единомышленниками, с теми, кто беспокоится о благосостоянии храмов, монастырей, церквей и других святынь. Ведь церковь – это не только золотые купола и красиво расписанные иконы. Это все мы с вами, когда живем во Христе!